Strategic Partners


The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) is an institution subject to the laws of the United States, based in Washington and set up in 1972 with a donation of the Federal Republic of Germany, to promote dialogue and co-operation between Europe and the United States in the spirit of the Marshall Plan. Its collaboration with the Compagnia di San Paolo started in 2004 and is now in its third consecutive two-year run, which has led to setting up a Turinese representation of GMF, as well as three research initiatives: Mediterranean Strategy Group (MSG), Urban and Regional Policy Program (URPP) and Europe Programme.

The Istituto Affari Internazionali(Institute of International Affairs )(IAI) is a cultural association, set up in 1965 by Altiero Spinelli and has since then been active in research, elaboration of ideas and strategies and spreading knowledge of international problems. The main sectors of research – on which the  strategic partnership set up in 2009 is based and  confirmed by the Compagnia for 2015-2016 - are: the integration and  future of the European Union; Europe in the world; Policy and economy of  security and defence; Transatlantic relationships; the Mediterranean and Middle East; International economic policy; Italian foreign policy.

The European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR) is an award-winning international think-tank that aims to conduct cutting-edge independent research on European foreign and security policy and to provide a safe meeting space for decision-makers, activists and influencers to share ideas. We build coalitions for change at the European level and promote informed debate about Europe’s role in the world. In 2007, ECFR’s founders set about creating a pan-European institution that could combine establishment credibility with intellectual insurgency. Today, ECFR remains uniquely placed to continue providing a pan-European perspective on some of the biggest strategic challenges and choices Europeans need to confront, with a network of offices in seven European capitals (Berlin, London, Paris, Madrid, Sofia, Rome and Warsaw), over 60 staff from more than 25 different countries and a network of associated researchers in the EU 28 member states.