The renewed General Council of the Foundation has elected Marco Gilli as Chair and Rosanna Ventrella Grimaldi as Vice-Chair of the Turin institution. The meeting was also an opportunity to determine the new governance structure for the four-year period 2024-2027.

Publication date: 16 April 2024

The first meeting of the General Council of the Foundation was held this morning, at the behest of the pro tempore Chair, Rosanna Ventrella Grimaldi. During the meeting, Marco Gilli was elected as the new Chair, with Rosanna Ventrella Grimaldi returning to hold the position of Vice-Chair.

“It is a great honour for me to have been appointed today as Chair of a Foundation like Compagnia di San Paolo, a nationally recognised institution with a centuries-old history”, declares Chair Marco Gilli. I am taking up this great challenge with enthusiasm and confidence in the knowledge that I am supported by a multidisciplinary team of the highest calibre, in terms of both governance and structure.” said the Chair Marco Gilli after the election.

At the end of the session, Rosanna Ventrella Grimaldi – elected as temporary Chair of Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo on 22 February this year – also spoke “I am very pleased with the work done over the past few months. “I have contributed and paid constant attention to the processes and values that distinguish this Foundation in the course of setting up the bodies, as required by the Constitution, with the support of the Secretary General’s experience.”

To read the statements made, please refer to the press release available at this link.

Following the verification of fulfilment by the new directors of the honourability and professionalism requirements, the new governance structure of the Turin-based Foundation was established for the four-year period 2024-2027.

The session was also a key moment to establish the organizational and governance structure of Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo for the next four years.

The Foundation’s Management Committee now consists of the following:

  • Marco Gilli, Chair
  • Rosanna Ventrella Grimaldi, Vice-Chair
  • Carlo Picco
  • Ezio Raviola
  • Nicoletta Viziano


The General Council consists of the following:

  • Mariangela Battisti (appointed by Philea, Philanthropy Europe Association)
  • Silvia Bordiga (jointly appointed by Accademia delle Scienze di Torino and Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei)
  • Nicoletta Buratti (jointly appointed by IIT – Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia and the University of Genoa)
  • Fatima Zahra El Maliani (coopted by the General Council)
  • Ezio Ghigo (jointly appointed by the University of Turin and the Polytechnic of Turin)
  • Barbara Graffino (coopted by the General Council)
  • Vincenzo Ilotte (appointed by the Turin Chamber of Commerce)
  • Davide Livermore (coopted by the General Council)
  • Angelo Matellini (appointed by the Genoa Chamber of Commerce)
  • Enrica Pagella (appointed by FAI – Fondo Ambiente Italiano)
  • Mariagrazia Pellerino (appointed by the City of Turin)
  • Lorenzo Pozza (appointed by the Milan Chamber of Commerce)


During the morning, the new Board of Statutory Auditors was also appointed, which will consist of the following:

  • Luca Asvisio (Chairman)
  • Paolo Rizzello (standing member)
  • Paola Vola (standing member)
  • Nicoletta Paracchini (alternate member)
  • Salvatore Regalbuto (alternate member)