Five groups have been selected for the second phase of the international design competition launched by Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo and Fondazione Museo delle Antichità Egizie to contribute to renewing the image of the Museo Egizio in Turin,

Publication date: 11 October 2022

The first phase of the selection process for the “Museo Egizio 2024” International Design Competition ended on 10 October, after which Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo, as the organising entity, announced the 5 groups of professionals set to take part in the second selection phase.

The competition, which is intended to renew the image of the Museo Egizio and Turin, by demonstrating the ability to integrate tradition with innovation, attracted 34 competitors with skills ranging from architecture to restoration, exhibition and museum staging, structural design, etc.

The candidates represented 9 countries: Italy, Denmark, France, Germany, United Kingdom, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden.

The design groups included 395 professionals of 14 nationalities.

The selected finalists are:

  • Giuseppe Bove (Pininfarina Architetture) – (Turin- Italy) – Under 40 Group Leader
  • David Gianotten (O.M.A. – Office for Metropolitan Architecture) – (Rotterdam – Netherlands)
  • Jette Cathrin Hopp (Snohetta) – (Oslo – Norway)
  • Kengo Kuma (Kengo Kuma & Associates) – (Paris – France)
  • Carlo Ratti (Carlo Ratti Associati) – (Turin – Italy).

This is a restricted short-list of participants chosen according to the competence and curriculum criteria set by the call for proposals and the statements made by the competitors themselves regarding some of the principles by which they will need to abide in the future design of the architectural spaces.

In particular, the selection criteria adopted were: skills of the competitor, quality of the reference projects and methodological report.

The selection committee, which will meet in January 2023 to determine the winner, consists of the following:

  • Committee Chairman: Architect Marco Albini
  • Mario Alberto Chiorino
  • Massimo Osanna
  • Renata Picone
  • Francesco Profumo, Chair of Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo.

The selected design groups are published on Concorrimi, the platform of the Professional Association of Architects of Milan, which is hosting the competition in collaboration with the Professional Association of Architects of Turin.

Click here to read the press release.